Sights

Hirschberg and nourish the environment are numerous tourist attractions and leisure activities. On this page you will find some hints and tips for leisure activities during your stay in Hirschberg.
If you are interested in a guided tour through the town of Hirschberg, please contact:
Dieter Bräutigam
Burgstr. 31
59581 Warstein-Hirschberg
Phone: 02902 1253
dbraeutigam48@gmail.com

Attractions in Hirschberg

Coalmines
Coalmines

The history of charcoal

The carbonization was carried detectable since about 800 AD in the Sauerland region and served as a fuel supplier for the iron smelting industry. The rich iron ore deposits and the high forests of oxygen and gave this country's winner-ideal location factors. In 1880 Theodor Leiße Holzverkohlungsunternehmen on a pile base in Hirschberg. Main customer was the Warsteiner ironworks. Due to a better transport links, he moved in 1882 after Meschede and built a manufacturing operation for further processing of coal to wood flour, dust and charcoal briquettes. Of the charcoal burners were employed up to 180 80 from the city Koehler Hirschberg. The carbonization was thus one of the main sources of income of many Hirschberger. The ever-increasing competition from coal and chemical charcoal production led to the end of Waldköhlerei.

The revival of old crafts

Coalmines 1974, shortly before the municipal reorganization, has been on the site, an old charcoal kiln site, at the initiative of the then mayor of the city Hirschberg and SGV Chairman Paul H. Wellmann's a show-burning, as a technical monument of Hirschberger charcoal and also as a visual aids for everyone built. Kohler helped the former Hirschberger city officials to build. 1980, decided the SGV Hirschberg Department to revive the old craft Hirschberger again. Under the expert guidance of the three was still alive Köhlering Henry Cramer, and Charles Henry Hirnstein Mester husband built four SGV hobby Köhler a coal pile and burned it off. Since 1980, the SGV division Hirschberg periodically abgrebrannt has several reactors.
>>View on Map<<

Surf Tip

Information about the kiln weeks in Hirschberg, with specific program and background information can be found on the website of SGV division
http://www.kohlenmeiler.net
Hirschberger Gate
Hirschberger Gate

The history of the Hirschberg gate

In 1753 the architect was Johann Conrad von Schlaun of Elector and Archbishop Clemens August, the owner of the Hirschberg hunting lodge, the Order in the courtyard wall of the castle to build a Jagdtor. It shows scenes of a Jagdtor hounds: on the left door leaf of a staged hunting dogs deer is seen, which rears up and tries to shake off the pack, a boar right in agony, which wards off the dogs. The emblem on the left wing shows the initials CA for Clemens August. On the right wing of his coat of arms is depicted. After Clemens August died in August 1761, the Hirschberger hunting lodge was by his successors until just rare, not used at all anymore. Between the years 1802 - 1810 the dilapidated hunting lodge was finally demolished. In 1826 the gate on the advice of the local council to protect it from decay, transported to Arnsberg. There it was built on Castle Hill and renovated again. Am Schlossberg, Arnsberg is the original Hirschberger gateway to admire today.
>>View on Map<<

Replica of the gate Hirschberger

Replica of the gate Hirschberger The Hirschberg was always a concern, Hirschberger gateway to get back to Deer Mountain. For 700-year anniversary of the decision was made to make a replica in approximately 70% of original size. Under the direction of Reinhard Joangieseker have created Josef Kaup, Erich Doetsch, Frederick Franz and Stefan brain stone in about 3 months of construction, a very detailed piece of art. These five Hirschberger citizens have sacrificed during the construction period, every spare hour and sometimes even given away for their holidays, to such a great document of the history Hirschberger again to give life. Good ideas, lots of skill, dexterity and endurance is very much they have succeeded in producing this structure. The iron gates were required by the former Hirschberger Alfonso groom, who now lives in Meckenheim at Heidelberg, made free in a very artful form. The amount of material he turned to his former place of residence, free of charge. After all this voluntary work and donations of material, it is very cost-effective managed to create an almost identical replica of the Hirschberg gate. After many discussions in the Hirschberger population about the different possible locations, the organizers have decided to build the gate at its original location again. It's in the Castle Street, in the driveway Budde / Assmann Arens. With a deviation of a few meters, it should have been standing in the period 1753 to 1826 as a driveway to the hunting lodge.
>>View on Map<<

Surf Tip

Information about the anniversary celebrations "700 years of city Hirschberg," was conducted in the framework of the replica of the gate Hirschberger
http://www.hirschberg-sauerland.de/de/unsere-gemeinde/historisches/700-jahre-stadt-hirschberg/
Deer City Hall
>>View on Map<<

Jagdstube

Due to its location in the Arnsberg Forest Hirschberg has always been closely connected with hunting. The castle served former Hirschberger the electors and archbishops of Cologne as a hunting lodge. The SGV has set up in 1981 a town hall deer hunting museum. There you can view various hunting trophies and preparations of the native wildlife. Visits available by appointment:
Günter Risse
Ballplatz 7
59581 Warstein-Hirschberg
Phone: 02902 3904
Guenter-Risse@t-online.de
Town and castle models

Town and castle models

Issued in the Town Hall you can find the dark and Herbert Guenter Risse-built city models, which show the city Hirschberg after the fire in 1788 and then rebuilt the city, and a little history from the end of this time.

Surf Tip

Pictures and explanations of the city models
http://www.hirschberg-sauerland.de/de/unsere-gemeinde/historisches/stadtmodelle/
Likewise, you will find a model of the Hirschberg hunting lodge, of which today exists only the stables.
The translation of this page was made ​​automatically and is therefore very faulty!

Sehenswürdigkeiten

In Hirschberg und der nähreren Umgebung finden Sie zahlreiche Sehenswürdigkeiten und Freizeitangebote. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie einige Hinweise und Tipps zur Freizeitgestaltung während Ihres Aufenthaltes in Hirschberg.
Sollten Sie interesse an einer geführten Tour durch den Ort Hirschberg haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an:
Dieter Bräutigam
Burgstr. 31
59581 Warstein-Hirschberg
Telefon: 02902 1253
dbraeutigam48@gmail.com

Sehenswertes in Hirschberg

Kohlenmeiler
Kohlenmeiler

Die Geschichte der Köhlerei

Die Holzverkohlung wurde nachweisbar seit ca. 800 n. Chr. im Sauerland betrieben und diente als Brennstofflieferant für die Eisenverhüttung. Die reichen Eisenerzvorkommen und die starke Bewaldung des Sauer- und Siegerlandes boten hierfür ideale Standort-faktoren. 1880 gründete Theodor Leiße ein Holzverkohlungsunternehmen auf Meilerbasis in Hirschberg. Hauptkunde war die Warsteiner Eisenhütte. Auf Grund einer besseren Verkehrsanbindung zog er 1882 nach Meschede und baute dort einen Fabrikationsbetrieb zur weiteren Verarbeitung von Holzkohle zu Grieß, Staub und Holzkohlebriketts. Von den bis zu 180 beschäftigten Köhlern kamen 80 aus der Köhlerstadt Hirschberg. Die Holzverkohlung war somit eine der Haupterwerbsquellen vieler Hirschberger. Die immer stärker werdende Konkurrenz durch die Steinkohle und die chemische Holzkohleproduktion führte zum Ende der Waldköhlerei.

Das Wiederaufleben des alten Handwerks

Kohlenmeiler 1974, kurz vor der kommunalen Neuordnung, wurde auf dem Gelände, einer alten Kohlenmeilerstätte, auf Initiative des damaligen Bürgermeisters der Stadt Hirschberg und SGV-Vorsitzenden Paul H. Wellmanns ein Schaumeiler, als ein technisches Kulturdenkmal der Hirschberger Köhlerei und zugleich als ein Anschauungsmittel für jedermann errichtet. Ehemalige Köhler halfen den Hirschberger Stadtbediensteten beim Aufbau. 1980 entschloss sich die SGV-Abteilung Hirschberg das alte Hirschberger Handwerk wieder aufleben zu lassen. Unter der fachkundigen Anleitung von den drei damals noch lebenden Köhlern Heinrich Cramer, Heinrich Hirnstein und Karl Mestermann errichteten vier SGV-Hobbyköhler einen Kohlenmeiler und brannten ihn ab. Seit 1980 hat die SGV-Abteilung Hirschberg in regelmäßigen Abständen mehrere Meiler abgrebrannt.
>>Standort auf Karte<<

Surftipp

Informationen über die Meilerwochen in Hirschberg, mit Festprogramm und Hintergrundinformationen finden Sie auf den Internetseiten der SGV-Abteilung Hirschberg
http://www.kohlenmeiler.net
Hirschberger Tor
Hirschberger Tor

Die Geschichte des Hirschberger Tores

Im Jahre 1753 bekam der Architekt Johann Conrad von Schlaun von Kurfürst und Erzbischof Clemens August, dem Besitzer des Hirschberger Jagdschlosses, den Auftrag in der Hofmauer des Schlosses ein Jagdtor zu errichten. Das Jagdtor zeigt Szenen einer Parforcejagd: Auf dem linken Torflügel ist ein von Jagdhunden gestellter Rothirsch zu sehen, der sich aufbäumt und die Meute abzuschütteln versucht, rechts ein Keiler im Todeskampf, der die Hunde abwehrt. Das Emblem am linken Flügel zeigt die Initialen C A für Clemens August. Auf dem rechten Flügel ist sein Wappen abgebildet. Nachdem Clemens August im August 1761 verstarb, wurde das Hirschberger Jagdschloss von seinen Nachfolgern erst nur noch selten, dann gar nicht mehr genutzt. Zwischen den Jahren 1802 - 1810 wurde das heruntergekommene Jagdschloss schließlich abgerissen. 1826 wurde das Tor auf Anraten des Landrates, um es vor dem Verfall zu bewahren, nach Arnsberg transportiert. Dort wurde es am Schlossberg wieder aufgebaut und renoviert. Am Schlossberg in Arnsberg ist das Original Hirschberger Tor noch heute zu bewundern.
>>Standort auf Karte<<

Nachbau des Hirschberger Tores

Nachbau des Hirschberger Tores Den Hirschbergern war es schon immer ein Anliegen, das Hirschberger Tor wieder nach Hirschberg zu holen. Zum 700-jährigen Jubiläum wurde der Entschluss gefasst, einen Nachbau in ca. 70% der Originalgröße anzufertigen. Unter der Leitung von Reinhard Joangieseker haben Josef Kaup, Erich Doetsch, Franz Friedrichs und Stefan Hirnstein in ca. 3 monatiger Bauzeit ein sehr detailgetreues Kunstwerk geschaffen. Diese fünf Hirschberger Bürger haben während der Bauzeit jede freie Stunde geopfert und sogar teilweise ihren Urlaub dafür hergegeben, um so ein tolles Dokument der Hirschberger Geschichte wieder ins Leben zu rufen. Mit guten Ideen, viel Können, Geschicklichkeit und sehr viel Ausdauer ist es ihnen gelungen, dieses Bauwerk herzustellen. Die erforderlichen Eisentore wurden von dem ehemaligen Hirschberger Alfons Bräutigam, der heute in Meckesheim bei Heidelberg wohnt, kostenlos in sehr kunstvoller Form angefertigt. Das benötigte Material stellte er seinem ehemaligen Wohnort ebenfalls kostenlos zur Verfügung. Nach all diesen freiwilligen Arbeiten und Materialspenden ist es sehr kostengünstig gelungen, einen fast identischen Nachbau des Hirschberger Tores zu erstellen. Nach vielen Diskussionen in der Hirschberger Bevölkerung über die verschiedenen möglichen Standorte haben die Verantwortlichen sich dazu entschlossen, das Tor an seinem Original-Standort wieder aufzubauen. Es steht in der Schlossstrasse, in der Hofeinfahrt Budde/Assmann-Arens. Mit einer Abweichung von wenigen Metern soll es dort in der Zeit von 1753 bis 1826 als Einfahrt zum Jagdschloss gestanden haben.
>>Standort auf Karte<<

Surftipp

Informationen zu den Jubiläumsfeierlichkeiten "700 Jahre Stadt Hirschberg", in dessen Rahmen der Nachbau des Hirschberger Tores durchgeführt wurde
http://www.hirschberg-sauerland.de/de/unsere-gemeinde/historisches/700-jahre-stadt-hirschberg/
Hirschberger Rathaus
>>Standort auf Karte<<

Jagdstube

Durch seine Lage mitten im Arnsberger Wald war Hirschberg schon immer Eng mit der Jagd verbunden. Das ehemalige Hirschberger Schloss diente den Kurfürsten und Erzbischöfen von Köln als Jagdschloss. Der SGV hat im Hirschberger Rathaus 1981 ein Jagdmuseum eingerichtet. Dort können Sie diverse Jagdtrophäen und Präparate der einheimischen Tierwelt betrachten. Eine Besichtigung ist nach Vereinbarung möglich:
Günter Risse
Ballplatz 7
59581 Warstein-Hirschberg
Telefon: 02902 3904
Guenter-Risse@t-online.de
Stadt- und Schlossmodelle

Stadt- und Schlossmodelle

Im Rathaus ausgestellt finden Sie die von Herbert Dunkel und Günter Risse angefertigten Stadtmodelle, welche die Stadt Hirschberg nach dem Brand 1788 und die anschließend wiederaufgebaute Stadt zeigen, sowie einen kleinen Geschichtsablauf aus dieser Zeit.

Surftipp

Bilder und Erläuterungen zu den Stadtmodellen
http://www.hirschberg-sauerland.de/de/unsere-gemeinde/historisches/stadtmodelle/
Ebenso finden Sie dort ein Modell des Hirschberger Jagdschlosses, von dem heute nur noch der Marstall existiert.